I sweat more than I ever did on the desert

17 Oct
June 18, 1944
Camp Stewart, Georgia

Dear Mom

We moved into the camp yesterday and we have really nice barracks. The only trouble is it’s awfully crowded here. To get a drink anywhere you’ve got to stand in a long line and everything like that. It’s hot as everything too. I sweat more than I ever did on the desert.

We go out on a field problem tomorrow and for the next few weeks we’ve got a lot of stuff like that to do. I don’t think I will get my furlough in July so it won’t bother your trip to Indianapolis.

You know, I don’t know whether Helen is home or still in Tennessee. I’ve only had one letter from her since I came back from my furlough and she didn’t say when she was coming in the letter, so I don’t know. If I didn’t think so much of Helen I’d quit her; she’s the hardest girl to get along with I ever saw.

Love to all,
Tom

 

2 Responses to “I sweat more than I ever did on the desert”

  1. Rebecca Royal October 17, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    I wondered when this romance would be on the rocks!

    • Pfc. Tom Ferguson October 17, 2012 at 11:07 am #

      I was just thinking I wish I had asked dad her last name or that I had a picture of her to put here. I don’t think the relationship survived his shipping out to England. Well, she sounded nice enough but I’m happy with the mom I’ve got!

Leave a Reply

