they’ve got a real nice U.S.O. here

3 Jun
May 3, 1944
Shreveport, Louisiana

Dear Mom

I’m in Deridder tonight. This is where we spend most of our time when we’re off. It’s about 8 miles from camp, and they’ve got a real nice U.S.O. here.

I got Dad’s and your letters yesterday. I can’t think of anything I need except I would like to have some of those stencils like they have down at the storehouse. If dad could get them. I just want the letters to make Thomas R Ferguson 33652379, about 1/2″ in size. I usually have a lot of stuff to mark that way and all we have is a card board stencil which isn’t so good.

I still don’t know much about my furlough but I’ll probably get it sometime during July as far as I know. I think that sooner or later I will be transferred into another, but that is just a hunch.

Love to all, Tommy

Leave a Reply

