If it would just be like it used to be

26 May
March 25, 1944
Texas

Dear Mom

We’re having some right warm weather down here now. We’re still somewhere in Texas, near the border. I think this is the last phase of these maneuvers but I think we’ll start a new one in about two weeks. I don’t think we’ll be in Louisiana much longer.

I miss being home more than ever since I was there. I’m sure hoping the war won’t last much longer. I’ve gotten used to being away and used to army life but still, there ain’t no place like home. If it would just be like it used to be when I had the old Terraplane and plenty of gas and tires. I hope it won’t be so long before we get back to normal again.

I have lost Aunt Bess’ address and I am sending you these pictures to send her. Audrey will want those of her baby I expect.

Love to all, Tommy

Leave a Reply

