I am in the Fourth Army

6 Feb

February 5, 1944

Shreveport, Louisiana

Dear Mom,

I got the letter you wrote to Camp Polk and the one to Shreveport both today. I am not attached to Camp Polk, that was only the de-training point. We moved out of our original camp this morning and we start on maneuvers tomorrow. We are about 60 miles from Camp Polk. We will be on maneuvers for several months. I like it a lot here in Louisiana; it’s warm and where we are now is not muddy or anything.

I’m sending some pictures of some of the fellows here that I’d like to keep. I can’t keep my drivers license and social security card too because I can’t carry any identification on maneuvers except my dog tags. We are simulating real combat and I have to tear up my letters and everything. I am in the Fourth Army instead of the Third like I said before.

It feels good to be closer to home. Guess I’ll close for now.

Love to all, Tom

Leave a Reply

