I’m in Louisiana now

28 Jan

January 27, 1944

Shreveport, Louisiana

Dear Mom,

I’m in Louisiana now about 65 miles from Alexandria. We’re living in pup tents and it’s ok except the mud is about knee deep and it rains most of the time.  My address is:

Btry C 567th AAA Bic
A.P.O. 403-A, c/o Postmaster
Shreveport, La.

and put my serial number with my name.

Some of the fellows are leaving on furloughs today and it is costing them $28.50 to Roanoke. I wish you could come to see me here but we will be moving around on maneuvers and we’re not in any camp so you wouldn’t be able to come. The maneuvers will last several months, about 4 or 5 and we’ll be all over this part of the country. It’s awfully nice being under trees instead of on the desert.

Love to all, Tommy

Leave a Reply

