The first bunch left for their furloughs this morning

25 Dec

December 18, 1943

Camp Haan, California

Dear Mom

I got a letter from you today. I want to spend Christmas with Aunt Bess if I can and I may be able to get about a three day pass.

The first bunch left for their furloughs this morning. There are sixteen groups to go and I am in the sixteenth. The way it stands now that puts my furlough next August. One of the boys that left this morning is in my gun section and he is going to be in Roanoke. I gave him your address and he is going to come by if he gets a chance.  I thought you all might like to talk to him and I want you to send my camera tripod and that cable release back by him.

If you wanted to come out here the best place to come would be Riverside and you could probably be able to stay in Camp Haan at the guest house. I would be able to see you more and I could probably be able to get off and we could go over to see Aunt Bess. Los Angeles is only about 50 miles from here.

I got Aunt Emma’s box and it was real nice. I have found where I can get all the film I want so never mind getting me any.

Love to all, Tommy

Leave a Reply

