War is awfully hard on people but I guess it won’t last forever

24 Dec

December 7, 1943

Camp Haan, California

Dearest Mom

I’ve got some awfully bad news tonight. An order came out that only 7% of a Battalion can go on a furlough at one time. That means that I will get my furlough anytime between January and 6 or 8 months later as there are about a 1000 men in the Battalion. I’m awfully disappointed about not getting home for Christmas. I miss all of you so much and I wanted to get home so bad I don’t know what to do. War is awfully hard on people but I guess it won’t last forever. There’s one thing I like about this though, that is we probably will be in the U.S. for 6 or 8 more months.

The training isn’t so hard now, and we will spend the biggest part of our time in Camp Haan. I like it right much here and I get a lot of enjoyment out of going to see Aunt Bess and Audrey. So I am better off than some. It’s not so hard and I guess I can live through it. I’m getting used to being away from home more than at first and as long as I’ll be able to stay here where I’m satisfied, I guess I’ll make out, so don’t worry about me.

I guess you can send me a package for Christmas and one thing I would like to have is a couple of rolls of film.

I’ll have to close for tonight.

Love to all, Tommy

Leave a Reply

