Tomorrow is Thanksgiving day

24 Nov

November 24, 1943

Camp Irwin, California

Dearest Mom

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving day. We’re going to have a turkey dinner but still we go out and fire all day tomorrow so we don’t get any holiday. I’ve been working since 6:30 this morning and it’s 10:20 p.m. now and I just got off. We fired all day then moved gun positions, then I was working barracks bags this evening. I sure do wish I could be home tomorrow with the football game and everything. I guess I got a lot of things to be thankful for anyhow. I only pray that it won’t be so long before I’m home for good though.

Don’t worry, I’ll have enough money for my furlough. I’ve got $60 now and I’ll be paid again before our furlough. I hope we do get that raise dad was talking about, it’ll help out a lot.

We are living in Camp Irwin in big tents and we have stoves in them. It gets awfully cold here at night, a lot more than back at Haan.

Guess I’ll close for tonight, mom. I’ll be thinking about you all sitting around the table tomorrow.

Love to all, Tommy

Leave a Reply

