I like California an awful lot

17 Nov

St. Francis Falls at foot of Mt. Rubidoux, Riverside, California

November 12, 1943

Camp Haan, California

Dear Pop

I went to the barber today and washed out about half of the Mojave desert out of my head. I couldn’t get it all.

I think I’m going to get over to see Aunt Bess this weekend. I wish I was as close to home so I could get home on my weekends. Still, I’ve gotten so I like California an awful lot. I think I would like to live out here after the war. It’s awful pretty and it seems to me like there’s more opportunity.

Love, Tom

Leave a Reply

