I was surprised to get letters from two girls in Brooklyn

9 Nov

October 31, 1943

Camp Irwin, California

Dear Mom

I’ve had a lot of letters from you all this week and I got Charlotte’s cookies too. They were real good and tell her thanks a lot. I got Helen’s picture too, and she sent me a real nice box with home made candy and everything. You know, when I first met her I didn’t think I would stay with her when I came in the army, but since I’ve been in I know how much she means to me. She’s the sweetest girl I ever knew. You don’t have to worry, I’m pretty sure you’ll have her for a daughter-in-law. This was a secret between her and I but I think I’ll let you in on it too. We already have the date set, it’s June 29, 1947.

I only hope the war is over by then. It would be awfully nice to have a car again and not have to be worrying about war news, rationing, and all that. War is awfully hard on people. I know a lot of men who have had to leave their wives and some with children and then a lot of them are lost in action.

I wrote to Nancy and she wrote me back a nice letter. And I was surprised to get letters from two girls in Brooklyn, NY.  I believe that is some of Hugh Ferguson’s work though, so I gave a couple of girls I know in Barstow his address. I met two sisters who work in a drugstore there.

Hugh has finished his training and I expect by now he has gone out on a ship. From his letters he really hated the Coast Guards. I guess one branch is as bad as the other. We in the service always write home and tell everybody how much we like what we’re in, but when we write to each other it’s a different thing. We talk about galley duty and K.P. and all that.

I will call when I get back to Camp Haan and I will probably get a chance to go over to see Audrey and Aunt Bess too. I am anxious to get over because it will be nice to talk to some of my own relatives again. I guess I’ll close, I am on guard tonight.

Love to all, Tom

One Response to “I was surprised to get letters from two girls in Brooklyn”

  1. Pfc. Tom Ferguson November 9, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    So, as you might expect, dad did not marry Helen after the war. In fact, I don’t think the relationship made it much past New Year’s 1944. Dad didn’t seem to broken up about it and I’m sure whoever Helen was she recovered well enough. In 1947, Tom Ferguson was starting his career as a photographer in Dallas, Texas. He moved briefly back to Roanoke Virginia after that, enough time to meet and marry my mother, Eva Brothers, in 1948 then bring her back to Dallas to open his own photo studio.

Leave a Reply

