Hoping the war will be over before long and we’ll live like civilized people

28 Oct

October 23, 1943

Camp Irwin, California

Dear Mom

The nights are awfully cold here now and it’s not so hot in the daytime. Our next field problem will start Monday. I dread it and I’ll be glad when it’s over. We’ll be going back to Haan then. It will be good to sleep in a bed again. We’ve been sleeping out here on the ground for more than a month now and I’m getting awfully tired of it. It gets dark about the time we finish our work and I have to do all my writing by the light of my flashlight.

I don’t know what we’ll do when we finish our training but I hope we will be shipped back east. I don’t hardly think we’ll be shipped across because we don’t know as much about this business as we should. Our training has been rushed through so fast.

I’m hoping the war will be over before long and we’ll all get home again and live like civilized people. This kind of life isn’t fit for any man to live. I guess I’ll make out alright though, I’m getting so I can take anything. But it would be much nicer if I could be back home and have my car to run around in and get to see my gal once in awhile.

Love to all, Tom

Leave a Reply

