We have loud speakers playing good old swing music

23 Sep

September 21, 1943

Camp Irwin, California

Dear Mom,

I am out on the desert again. We are living out in pup tents about 10 miles outside of Camp Irwin. It’s pretty tough going and we will be out here for about 8 weeks sleeping on the ground. However they have provided for us some. This evening we have a mobile canteen and free movies and loud speakers playing good old swing music. It’s pretty good to have that out here in the middle of the desert. Tomorrow we will start firing the guns. That’s what I like to do most of all and we will be doing that most of the time we are out here.

It’s getting pretty dark so I guess I’ll close for tonight. I’m getting used to this rugged life so don’t worry about me.

Love to all, Tommy

P.S. Stamps are hard to get out here and it’ll help a lot if you send me a few once in awhile.

Leave a Reply

