I made marksman on the rifle

23 Aug

August 23, 1943

Camp Irwin, California

Dear Mom,

It’s pretty bad out here and I’ll be glad when we get back to Haan. Tuesday we have to crawl 200 yards under machine gun fire. That’s not much though. The thing I don’t like out here is the heat. Then too, I just get sick of the whole army. I haven’t heard any news for a week, I hope we are doing ok out there.

One week of the desert is over. I made marksman on the rifle and I made expert on the 45c tommy gun (that is a small submachine gun used in close fighting.) So far I’m doing ok. If I keep it up I’ll be a Pfc. or Corporal in no time.

They are still talking a lot about us going to Massachusetts, only  the latest is that it’s Mass or Fort Hustes, VA. I don’t pay much attention to those rumors though. I won’t believe it until I see it.

Thanks again for the candy and cookies. I am still eating them. I’ll write again first chance I get.

Love to all, Tom

P.S. Here are two double A’s for Bill and Charlotte

double A

Leave a Reply

