Getting used to this life

5 Aug

August 5, 1943

Camp Haan, California

Dear Mom,

Thanks for sending me the pipe, testament, and shoes. In this camp you have to get a paper from the C.O. to get a pair of shoes and they only give out so many and I would have to wait a long time to get a pair. So I thought it would be easier to get a pair from you all if you had a stamp. Some fellows have been waiting three months for their shoes.

I am getting used to this life. I like to work with the forty (40mm AA gun) and I am gun pointer on it. We have to work awfully hard though. I’ve got K.P. tomorrow but that’s a lot easier than regular routine. We are having a beer party before we go on the desert next week. The Captain says there will be Coca-Cola for them that don’t drink so I’ll stay sober. The party ought to be a lot of fun.

We will stay on the desert for 21 days. We fire the guns at targets pulled by planes. I’m kind of anxious to get out there. It is about 150 miles north of here at Camp Irwin which is really part of Camp Haan.

I guess I’ll close for now. It’s getting pretty late and I have to get up at 5 o’clock for K.P.!

Love to all, Tommy

Leave a Reply

