A little moonlight stroll

28 Jul

July 28, 1943

Camp Haan, California

Dear Mom,

We took a little stroll in the moonlight the other night. That’s what we called it. It was an eight mile hike with full pack and two gas attacks with real tear gas. We went to bed about 1 o’clock and they pulled me out about 4 o’clock to stand guard. I didn’t feel any bad effects from it except my feet hurt.

I have gotten a letter from Bill, and I got one from Aunt Hila too. She gave me two dollars for a graduation present. I got the letter from Ruth and I am getting mail from Helen now.

I’m getting use to it here now. Also, I have been assigned to a gun section rather than the truck. I think I will like working with the gun better.

Love, Tom

Leave a Reply

