Right next to March Field

25 Jul

July 25, 1943

Camp Haan, California

Hello Squirt! (Bill)

How do you like it at camp? I like it ok. We have an hour in the morning for drilling and an hour in the afternoon for exercise. The rest is just class room work on working on the guns. I have to get up at six o’clock every morning. I don’t like that much but I’m getting used to it. I went to town last night, to Riverside, a pretty good sized town. Had a pretty good time.

I see a lot of planes out here as we are right next to March Field. They have almost every kind of plane over there. They have some captured Jap zeros too. I am going to be put on an anti-aircraft gun crew. We go out on the desert in about two weeks to fire the guns.

Well, I don’t have time to write anymore for tonight.

Tom

Leave a Reply

