110 degrees in the shade!

25 Jul

July 25, 1943

Camp Haan, California

Dear Mom,

We are having a little hot weather today. The temperature is 110 degrees in the shade. It’s about the hottest it’s been since I got here.

I got your package yesterday. Thanks a lot. Whenever you send another box I wish you would put in my yello-bole pipe and a New Testament. Don’t send my Bible because I’m afraid I will lose it or it will get torn up. If you all happen to come across another extra shoe ration stamp, I wish you all would get me a pair of shoes.

I went to Riverside last night. It was the first time I’ve gotten out of camp since I got here. Riverside is really a nice little town. We will be able to get passes most any time we want them now. If I can get a weekend pass I am going to Hollywood next week.

I did my washing and went to church this morning and I’ve been writing letters most of the afternoon. I guess I’ll close for now.

Love to all, Tommy

P.S. We just heard about Mussolini. Maybe that will make some changes in the war.

One Response to “110 degrees in the shade!”

  1. Pfc. Tom Ferguson July 25, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    In re Mussolini: Following the Allied invasion of Sicily, Mussolini was deposed by the Fascist Grand Council in July 1943 and imprisoned.

Leave a Reply

